Alvarado Junior High School

Skip to main content

District honors top faculty, staff and retirees

Alvarado ISD honored its teachers and staff at an awards breakfast May 30, which marked the end of the 2016-2017 school year.

Each campus’ Teacher of the Year was recognized, 11 Indian Pride Awards were handed out and the district recognized years of service with awards for teachers and staff who had been with the district for 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years.

The Teachers of the Year for each campus were Taylor Sanders (AEN), Marcia Byrd (AES), Pati Clark (LES), Samantha Juarez (AIS), Christina Calk (AJH) and Estelle Murr (AHS).

From that group, Samantha Juarez and Estelle Murr were selected as the Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year and will represent Alvarado ISD as they try to become the Region XI Teacher of the Year.

The Indian Pride Awards are in their eighth of existence. Any non-teaching staff member is eligible to earn an Indian Pride Award and can be nominated by students, co-workers, parents or community members through an online form.

Trina Barlow (AEN), Desi Fauver (Special Education), Tricia Parker (Finance), Nicole Lackey (AJH), Enedelia Elizalde (AES), Jeff Bower (Technology), Cassi Clothier (LES), Shawna Charouel (AIS), Erica Pulaski (AHS), Tony Moreno (Operations) and Barbara Dilks (Transportation) earned Indian Pride Awards this year.

Staff members that were honored for five years of service were Jennefer Bailey, Wendy Boterf, Emily Bynum, Celia Castillo, Cassi Clothier, Lauren Cole, Brandy Goodsite, Katherine Hampton, Darla Hughes, Teresa Hutson, George McAllister, Emile Moline, Patrick Neary, Tom Newsome, Brittani Parker, Erica Pulaski, Jacob Rowe, Irene Russell, Vicki Sims, Trena Watson, Whitney Welborn and Justin Wood.

Earning 10-year awards were Dale Brock, Tommy Brown, Jessica Clampitt, Melissa Goldthwaite, Tina Herrera, Tonya Kelley, Melinda Malone, Loretta Mitchell, Paxton Morris, Tamara Morris, Diane Mullins, Shay Spann, Charles Thompson, Tami Ward and Brian Welch.

Earning 15-year awards were Cathy Adams, Christina Brady, Michelle Briggs, Kesha Buckley, Melissa Cornell, Jill Dennis, Laura Ferguson, Lisa Henderson, Donna Kirkland, Alison Mahoney, Ed Smith and Laura Stephens.

Debbie Berry, Melodye Brooks, Pati Clark and Julie Fain were recognized for 20 years of service.

Wanda Scott and Jimmy Isclaw were recognized for 25 and 30 years of service to Alvarado ISD respectively while Bobbie Buckley, Leanne Byrd and Janine McAfee were honored for 35 years of service.

The district also recognized 11 retirees — Judy Gross, Linda Ahlert, Kathryn McNiel, Bobbie Buckley, Kay Lynn Biggs, Pati Clark, Terri Duncan, Wanda Scott, Pam Stephens, Mitzi Vantreese and Dennis Loofbourrow.